Little Songbirds: Kids’ Worship CD Review and Giveaway!

Today I’m excited to tell you about a worship CD for kids that I received from Little Songbirds. We’ve bought quite a few worship CDs for the kids over time, but many of them never catch on. It seems like we always come back to the same few that they love! When Little Songbirds offered to send me a CD in exchange for my honest review, I was happy to try something new.

In two short weeks, the Little Songbirds CD has become a new family favorite! Here’s a little about why my kids and I are loving this album. They’ve also sent me a CD to give away to a reader and I’ll let you know at the end how you can win!

1. The music is very catchy. This is very important for kids, who typically become connected to the music before the lyrics. My kids quickly embraced these songs and immediately were moved to dance – even my normally stoic 3-year-old son. About half of the 12 songs are Hawaiian in style, which naturally makes you want to get up and have fun! I’ve found myself humming the songs when my kids aren’t even around.

2. It’s different from the other CDs they have. Is it just me or do a lot of kids’ CDs start to sound the same after a while? I feel like if you buy 10 CDs, you are guaranteed to have 9 songs re-creating Noah’s Ark. This CD is highly original and refreshing, especially with the Hawaiian flare.

3. The lyrics, for the most part, are simple AND clear. This is huge for me because I love for the kids to hear the lyrical message as well as the tune itself. I’m often amazed by how complicated the lyrics can be on some kids’ CDs. My kids quickly memorized several of the songs because the lyrics are clearly enunciated, simple and repeated several times. There are a couple of songs that are less clear, but it doesn’t detract from the album overall.

4. The kids who sing complement the songs rather than detract from them. It makes me a little crazy when, on almost every kids’ worship CD, it’s difficult to understand the words the children are singing, despite their good intentions. I love that on this album the kids are involved in just the right way.

5. The message of the songs is impactful. The lyrics of the songs provide a wonderful Christ-centered message that can be the basis for a variety of discussions with your kids (for example, there is a very fun song about what is and what is not a fruit of the spirit). To give some variety to our nightly worship, I’m going to start using the CD this week for both singing and discussion!

You can hear samples of all 12 songs on the Little Songbirds website: http://www.littlesongbirdsmusic.com/music/ The CD is offered in both a physical and digital form. If you are interested, you can buy it here (non-affiliate link): http://littlesongbirds.bigcartel.com/.

 

How to Enter the Giveaway:

 

Little Songbirds also sent me a CD to give away to a Christian Mom Thoughts reader! Here is how to enter the drawing (one person will be chosen at random). Leave a comment on this post (not on Facebook!) and tell me: 1) One thing you like about this blog and 2) one topic you would like to see me post about (if you have more than one, I’m all ears!). That’s it! I will do the drawing on Friday and contact you via email if you win. Good luck!

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this CD in exchange for my fair and honest review. 

25 Comments

  1. Shari Bowen on September 10, 2012 at 8:21 AM

    Hi, I enjoy your blog- connecting with other Christian Mom’s is awesome! Not sure what I would like you to focus more on- I am new here. 🙂



  2. Kellie Titchnell on September 10, 2012 at 8:44 AM

    This sounds like a great CD. We listen to praise and worship CDs with our daughter who is 6, but not ones for children for many of the comparable reasons you’ve cited in your review of Little Songbirds. Our daughter likes the music we select and she does catch on to the lyrics and refrain. Her favorite is “Wake Up O Sleeper”!
    Anyway, I really appreciate your anointing to write and how you use your own life experiences and faith to help other Christian families. You inspire me to be more purposeful with my daughter when it comes to growing her faith and understanding of who God is.
    Now that my daughter is six, I feel that her vocabulary and intellect have grown and so I want to change our bedtime routine soon. Right now we read a devotional before bed. It is very short and sometimes she will be led to pray but most times it’s just a kiss and then off to bed. It’s a yearly devotion so I want to finish out the year with it, but I was hoping to start introducing something a bit more advanced. More specifically something with questions at the end or discussions that would help her to take the Bible reading a step further. Since you have children of varying ages I would like to know what you have found that works and what resources you use.
    Thanks so much Natasha! God bless



    • Emma hope on September 10, 2012 at 1:21 PM

      Try the Gracelink website. It has age appropriate lessons that are beautifully illustrated and bible based. The kindergarten section would suit a six year old. Google Gracelink .



  3. Alaina Adkins-Armstrong on September 10, 2012 at 9:07 AM

    I love that you are so enthusiastic in making your readers understand that God is so vital for a happy life and family. I have bought a couple of the books you have recommended and I hope to see more about raising spiritual kids and how to nourishing sibling love through our Father.



  4. Shaana on September 10, 2012 at 9:16 AM

    I love reading your articles! My daughter is a little past the children’s CD age but since I am a Sunday school teacher and babysitter (and as such have many younger children in and out of my house) this CD sounds great for them!

    One topic that I would love to hear your opinion on is disciplining your children’s friends when they are in your home. It’s very difficult to know where the “line” is (obviously you wouldn’t spank a child) when it comes to having them follow your rules. Look forward to hearing about it!



  5. Kerri on September 10, 2012 at 9:24 AM

    I love your Blog, I appreciate your honesty and the issues you address that most christian mom’s can relate to (but seldom admit). I would actually love to hear your “Answers” to the 60 Faith questions, I find your explanations to be clear and easy to understand. It is refreshing. Thanks for sharing your heart with us.



  6. Agnieszka Street on September 10, 2012 at 9:37 AM

    Your blog posts give me encouragement in rough days, give me ideas on implementing Godly living in our household, which is difficult, because my husband is non-believer. I would love to see you post topics on marriage. Thank you.



  7. Jessica on September 10, 2012 at 12:26 PM

    Hey Natasha!

    Love your blog! I will be looking forward to your answers to your 60 spiritual questions bucket list 😉 LOL…kind of 😉



  8. Rosann on September 10, 2012 at 1:08 PM

    Natasha, sweet friend! What a fun review and giveaway. Let’s see… what I love about your blog is YOU. You have a writing style that speaks to me every time. Your topics are interesting. You are thorough and knowledgable and you always glorify God with your words. 🙂

    Now…a topic you should cover… hmmm…

    I have to agree with the previous commenter that suggested more topics on marriage and how you mix your Christian faith and lifestyle into the beauty of your marriage. I know your blog is more a parenting blog, but since the foundation of happy kids is the result of a happy marriage between mom and dad – particularly a Christ-Centered marriage, I think throwing a post or two into the mix about marriage would be a great idea. 🙂



  9. Sylvia on September 10, 2012 at 2:31 PM

    Your blog is inspiring for a stay at home mom like me. And i would like to hear about how to help a child to increase his emotional intelligence. My boy is 4 and I feel that he needs some help on this area.



  10. Shawna Fay on September 10, 2012 at 3:22 PM

    What I like about cmt is that you always address subjects I am interested in. I find your blog incredibly helpful. Also one thing that I would like to see is maybe a daily or weekly inspirational on FB, something short since I’m sure your very busy with your little ones. Maybe a verse that is on your mind or an idea on how to incorporate God into the kids lives in a new and fresh way.



  11. Corrine on September 10, 2012 at 5:16 PM

    I love how supportive and inspirational this blog is! It moves me every day. I’d love to see more in the blog about answers to give nay Sayers of faith. :o)



  12. Teresa Kartheiser on September 10, 2012 at 6:12 PM

    I love this website. I am a new mom your site really gives me spiritual guidance in areas I haven’t experienced yet. So I am so happy to have these seeds planted in me, so when I do encounter situations, I will be ready with the Holy Spirit’s guidance and your seed. Thanks a bunch. I wouldn’t mind hearing some actual circumstances as a follow up to some of your topics. That would be super. Keep up this wonderful ministry and all for the glory of God.
    Because HE lives,
    Teresa Kartheiser 😀



  13. Erin Jones on September 10, 2012 at 6:19 PM

    I love your blog because you offer great Christian-based parenting insight and it helps me incorporate new things in my family. I would love to hear more about how you manage the discipline and “come to me for anything” sides. You might have already posted a topic on this but maybe I missed! I am fairly new!



  14. Debbie Nateghi on September 10, 2012 at 7:45 PM

    Hello! I’m new to your awesome blog and I really would love a chance to win the Chrisitan music cd as a Mom of 2 children we share the gift of musical talent and love singing together especially when we are taking long road trips….since I’m new to your site I can’t make a suggestion on what I would like to see you post but I am excited I found you and all this great & amazing stuff!!! I think I will stay for awhile and do some reading….:)

    Many Blessings!

    Debbie Nateghi, REALTOR



  15. Cindy on September 10, 2012 at 8:57 PM

    I just simply love your blog. My son and I listened to all the samples from this CD and love it so much! I would like to be entered in your drawing for the CD. I love this blog because it is so child/family focused and always has God number 1 and most important in all things. You make reading your post enjoyable and easy to read and understand. To be honest, I am not sure if there is anything in particular that I would like to see you post about because you already post things that I would not have thought about that catch my attention! I could use a little help in learning how to deal with my older teenage daughter whose faith is not very strong and she has a lot of questions right now.



  16. Amber D'Amico on September 11, 2012 at 6:27 AM

    I love that with all the negative things in this world, I can always count on this blog to be positive, encouraging and applicable for the seasons I go through as a mom. It’s refreshing to have Christian insight to help bring my son up in the Lord. I would like to see the topic of adoption on this blog.



  17. Debbie Fulthorp on September 11, 2012 at 6:04 PM

    I love your blog – your perspective is refreshing and honest. It makes me think of things I haven’t before. There aren’t many ‘mom’ blogs that I enjoy. But we have tried some of the things you have suggested and they work! I would love the CD, but know you have alot of subscribers 🙂 I like all of your posts, so any topic regarding kids is great!



  18. Natasha @ Christian Mom Thoughts on September 11, 2012 at 8:23 PM

    Thank you so much everyone for your “entries”! I really enjoyed reading all the thoughts on post ideas and learning what kinds of things you like about the blog. I so much appreciate your input and I will definitely be using all of your ideas! I’ll be accepting entries until Friday morning and then I’ll do the drawing. I’ll announce the winner here, and email you if you won as well.

    Thank you again!



  19. Sheeba Mathew on September 12, 2012 at 9:39 AM

    Wow, this is a good giveaway as my 4 y.o likes to sing songs on his way to preschool in mornings…he loves the distraction i have noticed…anyway, i cannot suggest what i would love to see on your blog for two reasons: if this is indeed a god-driven blog then let Him be that inspiration and the source of all that is written…secondly i love all that you have written here becos they are vital topics to many a christian home…Just keep persevering on this track…:)



  20. lily on September 13, 2012 at 10:14 AM

    Im brand new to your blog…just found it today while searching on Facebook. I like how you have a fb, there are not too many christian mom sites. i have not yet looked over everything on your site but if you dont already have them i would like to see devotionals. TY



  21. Jamie Pender on September 13, 2012 at 3:16 PM

    I love to be able to connect with other Christian Moms. I would like to hear more about stepfamilies and how to cope with issues in them. 🙂 thanks! I’d love to win this CD for my two boys. I’m a teacher at a Christian preschool that they both attended and one still does. They love worship music!



  22. Natasha @ Christian Mom Thoughts on September 16, 2012 at 12:31 PM

    Congratulations to Debbie Nateghi – you were the winner selected by the random number generator at random.org! Thanks so much to everyone for entering the give away. I hope to do more in the future! I encourage you all to consider purchasing the CD on the site…it really is wonderful!

    Debbie, I am emailing you for your address. Please contact me if you don’t receive my email.



  23. […] From Google Blogs Search- Kids Worship Today I'm excited to tell you about a worship CD for kids that I received from Little Songbirds. We've bought quite a few worship CDs for the kids over time, but many of them never catch on. It seems like […]